Ash Wednesday

Today is Ash Wednesday, the first day of lent. I have decided to participate in lent this year, and have chosen to give up processed foods. This includes pretty much anything and everything I love. While I am not trying to make myself miserable, I need to learn to seek God to make me feel better, not a tub of ice cream. I am addicted to junk food. And I am going to break this cycle.

I bought a book called “Made to Crave” by Lysa Terkeurst about 6 months ago, but I never read it. I also bought the journal that goes with it, because we all know what a nut I am about paper. Anywhoo. Just to give you an idea of what the book is about, and how incredibly well it goes with what I am doing on my journey during lent, I am going to share with you the dedication.

“This book is dedicated to you, my friend. While I don’t know your name, God does. I believe he led you to pick up this book because He wants you to know your issues with food are not a curse but a gateway through which He can touch the rawest places of your heart and help you discover a deep satisfaction only He can give. Go ahead and dare to believe that this time around things will be different. ”

 

Wow. Nail. On. The. Head.

My goal is to lose 15 pounds by the end of lent, which is Easter. So that makes the time period 40 days. Please send me much encouragement. I set my standards high because I needed to. It’s all or nothing. Quite frankly, I’m sick of being fat. And hungry.

I will share more tomorrow. I have to clean tonight because we have to let “an outsider” in the house tomorrow to fix our heat.

Please and blessings.

Leave a comment